Structural Engineering

Structural Engineering Travel Fellowship

The Structural Engineering Travel Fellowship is a $20,000 award that aims to foster an appreciation of the aesthetic potential in the structural design of buildings and bridges by enabling a gifted graduate to experience works of architecture and engineering first hand. The Foundation hopes that, in turn, the Fellow will influence the practice and teaching of structural engineering in the future.

Eligibility: Applicants must be graduating with a bachelor's degree, master's degree, or Ph.D. in Civil or Architectural Engineering with a specialization in Structural Engineering from a U.S. school. U.S. citizenship is not required.

View recipients of the Structural Engineering award from 2017 and previous years.

The 2017 SOM Foundation Structural Engineering Fellowship has been awarded to Leah Peker of Columbia University.


2018 Competition Details and Deadlines

For the 2018 awards, the applicant's degree must be received between July 1st, 2017 and June 30th, 2018

Details Download Competition Guidelines & Forms
Nominations Due Received by Monday, December 11, 2017
Submissions Due At the Foundation no later than 5:00 p.m. CST
Monday, January 22, 2018
Winner Announced By Friday, March 9, 2018